• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Considering buying a laptop, needs some quick pointers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saturnman

Banned
I have limited experience with them but one could be useful to me these days.

I'm not planning to play PC games and would only surf the Web sparringly with it. But I do plan on using it for drawing, playing movies and perhaps some limited emulation games.

What I was wondering about concerns the pre-installed operating systems first and foremost. I know some older laptops used Windows CE for example, sort of a barebone version of Windows 95/98. But do modern laptops still use something similar? It doesn't seem so from my initial research suggesting I could reuse many of the programs I use on my current computer running on Windows XP.

Whatever the case, are laptops generally stable? Is there any way to repair or reinstall the operating system should a major problem arise? Are they accessory-friendly, like for trackballs, tablets, DVD burners or anything else that comes with new drivers and software?

On a sidenote, do specs work differently on certain respects with laptops? I'm especially interested with the issue of RAM.

seanoff

mate, they're just small pcs.

if u want to connect stuff just get one with the connections u want, ie USB2, Firewire etc. U can get hubs for those things.

Re-installing the OS is the same no matter what the PC big or small.

Most of them use XP, the only things that use a different OS is the handhelds

Software works the same no matter what size the PC.

Saturnman

Banned
Well, concerning the specs, I'm used to building a PC with different parts. There are often niggles and slight incompatibility issues that arise and can not always be solved completely. I'm assuming laptops work a little better out of the box (as long as you don't add anything to it). Am I right?

teh_pwn