• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

The Worst Job Interview in History

RavenSan

Off-Site Inflammatory Member
GAF -- I just had the worst job interview I've ever had in my life.

Within the first minute I knew it was going nowhere. The dude first of all, looked tired and bored, and like he was doing me a favor interviewing me, and not happy about it. Started out by saying 'I've been with X company for 5 years, which is frankly like a lifetime in X Company time'

Then he starts asking me 'What drew you to this position' -- I fucking hate that question anyway. What drew me? You're looking for an IT Manger, I'm an IT manager. the fuck do you think drew me?

Then he starts asking me about Infrastructure-As-Code (Something I was quite clear about to the screening call I know nothing about) -- and I just had to say 'I don't know. I'm happy to learn the setup and formulate a plan to manage it, but it's not something I'm familiar with'

Then he tells me my direct reports are contractors in India.

Then he drops 'Yeah, we're retooling the team because some of our investors dried up'

I whole heartedly believe he was actively trying to just dissuade me from moving forward, and if that's the case, maybe the dude is a real G and did me a massive favor. But as it stands, if - by some miracle - I get invited for a 3rd round interview, the answer is a hard pass.

So GAF -- do you think you can beat my story? Share your worst job interview stories here, and lets have a collective laugh.

Cyberpunkd

VP Sales told me I will have difficulty integrating the team because they are all French (I’m naturalised). Same VP told me the Sales team with a French manager is currently at 40% of target.

The Other Kingdom Dancing GIF by Nickelodeon

Vyse

Gold Member